THAT KINDA LOVE

I don’t profess to be a christian, but I do believe that the bible has some really interesting ways of expressing/looking at certain things.  Ways I believe we could benefit from adopting.  Admittedly some of the pronouncements may seem lofty or even impossible from a human perspective, but I am sure that ‘impossible’ is one of the words inadvertently placed in human language, as far as I can see, nothing is impossible for human beings, perhaps impossible may exist for other life forms, but human….transcend such limitations.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 deal with love, describing in very simple terms what it is and is not.

‘Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

 

From the looks of it, this love thing is quite dangerous…especially verse 7…it ALWAYS PROTECTS, TRUSTS, HOPES AND PERSEVERES.  That to me is the crazy line.  I have loved and though it took some time for me to admit it to myself, I am in love right now in a way I have never been.  Like with everything I am becoming to understand, our interaction with people and the situations of this life, is really about a deeper interaction with self.  I am in love, but what this love has really taught me is HOW I love, how love empowers me and at times deflowers me.  My experience of love has very little to do with the object of my love.  The object of my love is also human, and if my love depended on them alone, at many times there would be no love, lots of fights and anger etc (the things we are accustomed to seeing at the ‘end’ of love).  I could never ever imagine having those things…the fights and anger.  This kind of love understands and accepts the person I am in love with…fully, so I am able to look beyond the mishaps and the failings.  It is not a self-abusing kind of love,  blindly making excuses for the the other persons shit or taking any crap from them either (the kind of love I was attracted to in the past), this kind of love understands the nature of love and that I must love myself first.

I do not get jealous, nor am I selfish wanting this person all to myself.  I can be open, have conversations that would freak out most people in relationships because at the end of the day I realise that love should be free and it must make both persons happy, most of all ME.

Leave a Reply

